I so totally suck at getting these Friday Lists up on time, or at all. Anyway, I swear this one will go up on a Friday like it should. Well hopefully anyway!!

So this week I thought I’d talk about some of my most favourite books of the moment. I used to read loads. I always had a book on the go but over the past year or so I have been reading less and less. I’m trying to read more and make a point of reading before I go to sleep at night. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t!!

Here are some of my favourite books:

CINDER by Marissa Meyer
This book is an updated tale of Cinderella set in a futuristic universe where cyborgs are the norm and there are strange, magical people who live on the moon. Cinder is a great mechanic who lives with her wicked stepmother and two ugly sisters (although one of them is nice and the other one is horrible and neither of them are ugly). Instead of a glass slipper there is a cyborg foot and instead of a pumpkin there is a car. This is a really good read. I’m guessing it’s YA but who cares. And there are going to be 3 more books in this series focussing on Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel. Can’t wait for them to come out.

THE WOMAN IN BLACK by Susan Hill
I first read this book when I was at university as my dissertation tutor told me it would help with the kind of fiction I was writing for my dissertation. I loved it then and I have loved it since. I haven’t see the movie version with Harry Potter sorry, Daniel Radcliffe primarily because I still think of him as Harry Potter and can’t imagine him actually being an adult! This reads like a traditional English ghost story. There’s no gore for gore’s sake and there’s not that much bad language either. The book is frightening in a way that a lot of horror books fail miserably at. Try reading it at night in a silent house and see what you think.

DRACULA by Bram Stoker
I have read this book so many times I know it inside out. I have also watched almost all of the films based on the book. The most memorable being Keanu Reeves’ version; most memorable because of how bad his English accent is but how brilliant Dracula was played by Gary Oldman. Anyone who knows me knows that I love vampires and anything along that vein and this is largely form reading Dracula. I read it for my English Literature A Level but I’d read it before that and still loved it. Everyone knows the story. It’s been retold in so many different ways but for me it will always be the original book by Bram Stoker that I prefer.

PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard
I know these books are for teenagers and the subsequent TV show is for teenagers but what can I say? I love all of the books in this series. I have them all on the Kindle app on my ipad and I’m waiting for the next one to come out so I can read that too. There are several books in this series:
Pretty Little Liars
Flawless
Perfect
Unbelievable
Wicked
Killer
Heartless
Wanted
Twisted
Ruthless
Stunning (not yet released)
Burned (not yet released)
These books are great if you want something you can read without really paying that much attention to. They’re not literary classics (IMHO, sorry) but they are great for when you want something that will take you away from whatever is going on in your life and put you in the lives of Spencer, Aria, Emily, Hannah and everyone surrounding them.

HOUSE OF NIGHT by P.C. and Kristin Cast
Like the Pretty Little Liars series, these books are aimed at the young adult audience but as you can see from above, that has never stopped me. These books are more me. There’s vampires and witches and ghosts and ghoulies and weird things that are half human-half raven (weird). I read the last novel to come out in this series in a day which is rare for me these days. I can’t wait for the rest to come out so I can find out what’s going to happen. So far there are 9 published books in this series with a tenth coming out soon.
Marked
Betrayed
Chosen
Untamed
Hunted
Tempted
Burned
Awakened
Destined
Hidden (not yet published)
When Hidden comes out I’ll be downloading it for sure.

So these were just a few of my favourite books. What are your favourite books?

