Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok, well technically one book that was split in to three. I used to read loads. All the time. I would snuggle up on the sofa with a good book and a cup of tea and stay there all day. And then I stopped working shifts and started a normal day job and I realised that I didn’t have enough time to do half the amount of stuff I used to do when I was working shifts. I’m shattered when I get home from work and now have several commitments on a week night so sometimes I’m not home till after 9pm. And, as I read in one newspaper this weekend, I’m often too tired to read a book but not too tired to watch some TV.

Reading a book requires imagination and an interaction with the characters and this in itself requires energy. Watching TV (much like watching a movie or listening to music) is something that requires little brain power. You can watch or listen to anything whilst doing something else (just like I’m watching the TV whilst typing this blog entry) and this makes it a more attractive pastime for many. I used to read a lot in the bath but then got a Kindle (and later an iPad) so that wasn’t going to happen. I used to read before I went to sleep  but generally find that I’m so shattered I just want to climb in to bed, pull the covers over my head and go straight to sleep.

So, why have I just spent two paragraphs moaning that I don’t have enough time to read when I’m writing a post called ‘Books books books’? Well that’s because of three books I have read in quick succession that have been causing a storm in the literary world, particularly among women. What are these books I hear you cry? Well they are:

Fifty Shades of Grey 

Fifty Shades Darker

Fifty Shades Freed

Originally these three books were just one very large book but were broken down for publication (attempt to cash in on more cash – I’m obviously too cynical!). The books detail the life of Christian Grey, a buttoned down, young, self-made millionaire with a penchant for young women who are completely submissive (and who are willing to sign a NDA!) and Anastasia, a somewhat sexually repressed virgin who falls in to his life and, as happens in all romance novels, turns the man in to a big teddy bear.

Without giving too much of the plot away for the people who would like to read the books (and I urge you to cos they’re not bad) the reason these books have caused such a furore on the internet and in papers is the subject matter which is basically S&M. So these are just dirty books for women then? Well they could be if you look at them in their most basic elements. The main theme throughout the book is indeed S&M (am I the only one who thinks that Christian’s ‘always up for it’-ness regardless of how long it was since he last performed is a little bit far fetched? No? Well someone introduce me to a guy like him please!) but there are also the usual romantic undercurrents present that you would find in any good Mills & Boons books.

If you listen to the people out there who are reading these books, they have managed to unleash a latent rampant sexuality in everyone and people everywhere are having much more sex than ever before. If you listen to the so-called experts who have read these books then they tap in to out sexual subconscious and make people remember that the most sexual organ is the brain (need more info on that one!)

No matter why people are reading them, for a book of this nature to find it’s way on to the New York Times Bestsellers list is no mean feat and I salute author E L James for bringing what is essentially a taboo subject to the forefront of peoples thoughts, discussions, imaginations and bedrooms!!!

Fair play to her. I’m off to buy a grey silk tie just in case I meet the man of my dreams………

